BLOG BLOCK

writers-block

Picture from sportschump.net

I think I am suffering from blog block.  I haven’t come up with any inspirations worth blogging about.  Can’t you tell?  My God, my last blog was about cleaning hair out of the vacuum cleaner…gimme a break!

So, I spent the better part of the last minute or so thinking about this problem and I have concluded there is no easy solution.  It’s like a slump.  I just have to wait it out.  In fact, the harder I try to remedy the situation, probably the worse it’ll get.  I shall sit quietly and just wait.  See, I’m waiting.  …Now I’m waiting some more.  Maybe I should twitter that I am waiting…or update my Facebook status to reflect my current status of waiting.  I’ll just have to wait and see.  Oh waiter…can I have another drink, please.  I”ll have what that blogger over there is having—the one who is blogging like crazy.

While I am waiting I should probably share with you some of the ideas I had while I was waiting to think of something substantive for my blog.  It’s not that I didn’t have any ideas…it’s just that I couldn’t get excited about blogging any of them.

First, I thought I’d tell you about the time I was about five years old and I got ringworm and I had to have all my hair shaved off.  My mother bought me a sailor hat and folded down the flap.  She thought if I wore it no one would see that I was already bald at five and make fun of me. What happened is, one of the only pictures I have of myself when I was a kid is standing in the back alley with my sailor hat on, flap down.  There are no pictures of me hitting a baseball or riding a roller coaster or blowing out the candles on my birthday cake.  Nope…just me with the ring worm in my sailor hat…flap down.  I wonder if that’s considered child abuse?

Next, I thought I’d I tell you about the time I was in fourth grade and we were to wear our Halloween costumes to school.  I don’t know why, but I dressed up like an old lady that year.  It must have been some exploratory phase I was going through; maybe a test or something.  Anyway, I had on a dress and high heels, a flowery hat—the whole twenty yards.  This neighbor lady drove us back and forth to school each day so I didn’t have to worry about riding the bus and trolley looking like a 10-year-old in an old lady dress.  I got to school and, funny, I was the only boy dressed like an old lady for Halloween.  All of a sudden, I sort of felt a little self-conscious.  Maybe I should have gone with the skeleton costume.  Now you must realize this was many years ago—back when “gay” meant “happy” and had no sexual connotation.  So there was none of that…at least that I knew of.  The big whammy came at the end of the day.  I forgot that my neighbor lady had told me she was not picking me up today and that meant I would have to take the bus and trolley home. Oh…my….God!  I couldn’t go home dressed like an old lady.  What if all the people on the bus and trolley didn’t realize I was dressed for Halloween?  I was mortified thinking about it.  I ran into the boys room and decided to ditch the dress. I had worn rolled up pants underneath.  But I didn’t have any shoes other than the high heels  (and they did not match my pants) and I only had an undershirt on top.  That would look even weirder, I thought.  So I rolled my pants back up, put the dress back on and decided I’d just ride home and hope everyone thought I was an old lady.  I don’t think that happened.

Or, maybe I should tell you about the time I learned about gasoline and how it just doesn’t catch fire and burn slowly like a lot of other fuels and that if you really are stupid enough to pour gasoline over a huge pile of raked leaves and then bend over to light it with a match…well, you probably know all about explosions anyway.

See, I should just wait it out, this blog slump thingy.  I need to have patience.  I need to think happy thoughts like blue skies, sunshine and laughter.  Yeah, that should help.   It’ll all come back.  I’ll rev up again with a bountiful new load of blogs that you will just love.  We’ll just wait.  Why don’t you read a magazine or something; maybe go for a walk, take a nap or fold the clothes in the dryer.  I’ll just be over here…waiting.

*****

The new book is coming soon…the big reveal even sooner! Stay tuned to this blog for further developments. Woohoo!

*****

Books by Marc Kuhn: THE POPE’S STONE, an historical novel that follows two descendants of a Virginia family who, despite living a century apart, share uncanny similarities in their lives; NEVER GOOSE A MOOSE, a collection of whimsical verse featuring thought-provoking “never-do’s” that children should beware of; and ABOUT A FARM, a children’s book about challenges we all face every day, regardless of where we live. All three books are available at amazon.com and each has its own .com website under its title.

Intimate details about Marc Kuhn and other exhilarating stuff at marckuhn.com

Many of the pictures used on my blog are photographs I’ve taken. If you see one you want and it is one of mine, simply ask in the comment section below and I will send it to you. Other illustrations used within this blog are culled from available images on the Internet. Copyrighted material is not intentionally displayed. If a source is provided, attribution is included on the blog. There is no attempt to steal or devalue any material used within this blog. If you have an issue or concern about anything included in the text or illustrations on this blog, please contact me.

Marc’s Blog is copyrighted 2012, 2013, Marc L. Kuhn. Reblogging is permitted with notification to author and if presented with attribution to source. Other reproduction, whether in whole or in part, must receive permission from author. Contact author via comment on this blog space or at info@marckuhn.com.

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

