STRANGE READING…

sickman

Strangely, I wrote this “deep” self-reflective poem and posted it on my blog last week (it’s just below this one if you care to read it).  At the time I never realized it may have been “epitaphy” in nature.  See, shortly after,  I would up in the hospital the past several days with a spectacularly offensive internal bleed, of which I will spare you the details.  I grabbed a book at the last minute before I left the house, knowing how long it takes to be processed through the emergency room.

As it turns out, the book has helped me pass the time for the several days I spent being stabbed and jabbed with needles and listening to the moans and groans of the suffering others in the rooms next to mine.  Of course, there were a bunch of tests and procedures to go through as the professionals attempted to figure out what my problem was.

Meanwhile, I spent my horizontal time daydreaming about a bucket list and becoming pre-occupied with guessing all the things that could suddenly be wrong with my up-to-now perfectly functioning body…well, somewhat perfectly.

I am home now, a little more fragile than when I left and not at all eager to grab an axe and do any log splitting.  I am told that this particular ailment will be with me for the rest of my life, but so far it does not appear that it will have any influence on how long that will be.  But imagine experiencing all this, if you will, and think what an odd turn it was that the book I picked off the table as I was racing out the door to the hospital was the current young adult best seller, THE FAULT OF OUR STARS…a cancer story!

More later…I’m not supposed to exert myself!

*****
It is still International Green Month.

I was a pale green color the other night, as my wife tells me.  So, I have done my part.  You?

 *****

Books by Marc Kuhn: THE POPE’S STONE, an historical novel that follows two descendants of a Virginia family who, despite living a century apart, share uncanny similarities in their lives; NEVER GOOSE A MOOSE, a collection of whimsical verse featuring thought-provoking “never-do’s” that children should beware of; and ABOUT A FARM, a children’s book about challenges we all face every day, regardless of where we live.  All three books are available at amazon.com and each has its own .com website under its title.

Intimate details about Marc Kuhn and other exhilarating stuff at marckuhn.com

Marc’s Blog is copyrighted 2012, 2013, Marc L. Kuhn.  Reblogging is permitted with notification to author and if presented with attribution to source.  Other reproduction, whether in whole or in part, must receive permission from author.  Contact author via comment on this blog space or at info@marckuhn.com.

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to STRANGE READING…

  1. Marc Kuhn says:

    Emotional trauma is good for the soul…builds character and stamina…and keeps the tissue company in business. I think this book is better…Read on my dear Granddaughter FTOSOTW!

    Like

  2. Marc Kuhn says:

    What greater sacrifice than to let the weeds take over for a month…I will record your effort in the sacred journal of green. Thanks for stopping by my blog. El gusto es mio.

    Like

  3. Leonor Torres says:

    Sorry you’ve been ill. Take care of yourself.
    You’ll be happy to know I’m contributing to International Green month by eating more lettuce and not pulling any weeds because they are green. I’ll get them next month.
    I started following your blog because Ken said you were a poet and a writer and I aspired be both (in spanish) in my youth, but them days are gone forever…I still like to read though.
    Say Hello to Rosemarie.

    Like

  4. 최다해 gongjumonica says:

    Gpop~ why all of a sudden? Perhaps you caught my Awesomeness Syndrome so you got yourself hospitalized? They say that the symptoms are pretty overwhelming. Kidding aside, please take care of yourself more. You have to be there in all those milestones I have set for ourselves!

    Strange yet not funny though. I am yet to read that book, and actually scared to do because I might get emotional trauma again once i finished it!

    Love,
    Monica

    Like

Leave a Reply

