CELEBRATING GREEN!

kermit

I am not sure why Kermit the Frog sings “It’s not easy being green.”   Maybe he was abused as a tadpole.  Regardless, I have decided Kermit may be right.  Green is a color that does not get the respect it deserves.  If you were to ask a group of people to list some of their favorite colors, I suspect that green would not be one of the top three colors.  I may be wrong, but that’s my guess.

With this in mind, I have decided that I will adopt green as my favorite color for May.  To add a little umph to my dedication I have also decided to exercise my authority and by it invested in me I have proclaimed May as International Green Month. Throughout the land there should be joyous celebration and displays of recognition for the greatness of green. I so declare it.  As the King of Siam once said, “So it shall be written…so it shall be done!”

By now I have either converted you to join in on May’s festivities or you are wondering what trifling stimulant has once again poked me in the butt and set me off  in my distorted ways.  We have had several weeks of rain here in South Florida.  It’s been the proverbial April showers bring May flowers.  It has rained everyday, or so it seems.  Not just drizzles, but good old thunder and lightning downpours.  Yesterday was a little sunnier.  Today is a lot sunnier—just what Florida is famous for.

greenbushsmgrasssm copy

treesm

With all this rain, and now with a hot sunny day or two, green has gone bonkers.  The grass shot up a gazillion millimeters; whole new clouds of light green leaves are clustered around the tree limbs and the lower shrubs and bushes, likewise, have filled their voids with virgin greenery.  Everywhere you look, you see fresh green.  Take, for example, the Plumeria tree in my backyard.  A few blogs ago it was leafless and dormant; today it is springing green anew (Ode to Joy playing in the background).

plumeriaplumaria2sm

So, not to worry good buddy Kermit—May is here and this May it is International Green Month.  I hope you relish (a green condiment, btw) the idea and wallow in its glory.  I for one definitely feel…well, green with envy!

 *****

Books by Marc Kuhn: THE POPE’S STONE, an historical novel that follows two descendants of a Virginia family who, despite living a century apart, share uncanny similarities in their lives; NEVER GOOSE A MOOSE, a collection of whimsical verse featuring thought-provoking “never-do’s” that children should beware of; and ABOUT A FARM, a children’s book about challenges we all face every day, regardless of where we live.  All three books are available at amazon.com and each has its own .com website under its title.

Intimate details about Marc Kuhn and other exhilarating stuff at marckuhn.com

Marc’s Blog is copyrighted 2012, 2013, Marc L. Kuhn.  Reblogging is permitted with notification to author and if presented with attribution to source.  Other reproduction, whether in whole or in part, must receive permission from author.  Contact author via comment on this blog space or at info@marckuhn.com.

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CELEBRATING GREEN!

  1. Leonor Torres says:

    Hi: I am very sure that Kermit was abused as a tadpole. As a matter of fact I can see the tragedy unfolding in the canal behind my house every single day, the poor little babies being harassed by egrets and turtles alike. It’s a sad, sad waterworld.
    Cheer up, the sun is shining, the flowers are blooming, and the world is a little funnier with blogs like yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

