THEY DON’T WRITE SONGS LIKE THAT ANYMORE …OR DO THEY?

ThurstonHarris

My 14-year old granddaughter was humming to a song on my pc radio.

I asked her if she realized the song was a hit over 50 years ago.

She didn’t show much reaction, she’s not one to be impressed

But I was compelled to take it further, not give it a rest.

“It’s a song by Thurston Harris,” I said, “called Little Bitty Pretty One.

It was a big favorite of people my age when we were very young.”

And the kids on American Bandstand thought it was really neat.

They gave it an 80 ‘cause it was easy to dance to and had a good beat.

Then I got to wondering if I backed this situation down to when I was 14

What songs fifty years prior would my generation think were really keen?

Well, wasn’t I surprised when I learned it’d be a song from the year 1909.

So off to Google I go to find the songs back then that made folks pine.

Shine On Harvest Moon was #5 by one group and #2 by another.

The Right Church But Wrong Pew, was 4, a favorite of my grandmother.

I Wonder Who’s Kissing Her Now was #3, but wait, it gets better yet.

The #1 Song was Put on Your Old Gray Bonnet by the Haydn Quartet.

Maybe now I realize why my granddaughter’s bell I wasn’t ringin’.

Put on Your Old Gray Bonnet is one song at 14 I wouldn’t be singin’.

But think about it—Thurston Harris has it all over the Haydn Quartet.

Folks much rather be caught humming Little Bitty Pretty One, wanna bet?

 *****

Marc Kuhn is the author of three books.  Recently published is an adult historical novel, THE POPE’S STONE.  The other two books are for children:  NEVER GOOSE A MOOSE…And a bunch of other things you should never do!; and ABOUT A FARM, lessons for life regardless of where you live.  All three books are available at amazon.com and each has its own .com website under its title.

Intimate details about Marc Kuhn and other exhilarating stuff at marckuhn.com

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

