Author’s Diaries – Part 4, Final Episode!

hangingI can tell by the response that thousands of you are quite disturbed that I left you hanging after Part 3 of my Author’s Diaries.  Okay, so maybe I exaggerate…no one (as in “not one”) person inquired about the Author’s Diaries.  So with that in mind, I will satisfy my own personal curiosity by presenting one final episode of the Author’s Diaries.  I can’t wait to see how everything turns out.  You too?

When we last left our hero (again, that’s me) he was explaining his process of writing a new book, literally, as he was writing it.  If you need to get caught up, scroll down to the previous three episodes of Author’s Diaries.  Remember, this blog is not about the story in the book, but the story of writing it.  It’s akin to those “The Making of….” movies that HBO does to show you the behind-the-scenes of how a particular movie was made

mysterThe working title for the book is DEAD LETTER.  Because it is partly a mystery, I have found it is getting harder and harder to tell you why I am doing certain things without giving away the mystery.  So this is why I think I will be concluding the Author’s Diaries with this episode.  You will just have to get a copy of the book when it is finally published.  Yes, of course, I will let you know.  I realize most of you are going to put your life on hold for the rest of the year while I finish writing it?

Picking up where we left off…in Chapter 4 I continue to establish Robert’s wish to leave small town Centreville, as does his cousin Eddie.  They plan to enlist after their upcoming graduation from high school and both turning 18.  The war (it’s 1943), they think, offers a perfect opportunity to leave town.  Robert finally breaks the news to his love interest, Sandra, about his plans to enlist, but Eddie had already told her.  This is intentional.

lonerI establish that Eddie is a loner and doesn’t have any friends other than Robert…that he does, however, find that Sandra is the only person he has ever been able to share personal thoughts with.  Two “seeds” are being planted here:  first, Eddie is alone and prone to drifting and, second, there is an established personal relationship between him and Sandra.

loveletterIn this chapter I also tell how Sandra likes to send Robert love letters in the mail, even though they see each other almost every day.  This is actually a “seed” I am planting because I want the reader to have little or no reaction to a letter that Robert receives just before he leaves for the war.  I want the reader to assume it’s just another letter from Sandra.

Onward…The boys have graduated and enlisted. They will be leaving very soon. Robert and Sandra have one last fling together at the “Castle” which is how they refer to the old boathouse on the river.  That’s another “seed” that will come up later in solving the mystery.  notesinbedMeanwhile, it is here where they wind up naked and finally do the deed.  This was a bit awkward for me since I am not the one you would choose to write a scene where two people are having sex.  I did attempt to take notes during some of the times my wife and I were, let’s say “feeling frisky,” but for some reason she kept taking the pen from me and throwing it across the room.  I was just trying to do research like any good author.  So, as I have said in the past, do not expect any shades of gray in my book.  It’s all pretty much black and white and assumptions must be made that the assumable happened.

One other thing…before they leave the boathouse Robert and Sandra carve their initials in a nearby tree…another “seed.”

As Robert is leaving for the Marines, I have attempted to describe him as fidgety and not himself all cold feetthat morning.  It is implied this is because he’s leaving from home for the first time and going off to war. That, however, is not all the reason.  Another “seed.”

In the meantime, Eddie fails to show when it is time to go.  Remember, I have painted Eddie as a loner and that was because I want everyone to assume he did not show for the bus leaving for boot camp because he got cold feet and went AWOL.

stop

This is where I have to stop.  Major things happen now and a new, important character is introduced.  Many of those “seeds” I have planted since the very first chapter now start to blossom.

And so ends this final episode of Author’s Diaries.  I think the world will go on and manage to survive despite the diary’s demise.  True, I know you probably feel the way you did when you watched the final episode of your favorite sitcom.  I am sure you will get over it.  I will now return my blog to regular blogging already in progress…whatever that is.

 *****

The Author’s Diaries have been brought to you by Blog.  Disappointed in how others treat you?  Not sure if you should develop a new facial tick or attempt online dating?  Try Blog!  One out of forty-six doctors says Blog will build your self-esteem and give you the confidence you need.  Blog…available at fine websites everywhere.

 *****

Marc Kuhn is the author of three books.  Recently published is an adult historical novel, THE POPE’S STONE.  The other two books are for children:  NEVER GOOSE A MOOSE…And a bunch of other things you should never do!; and ABOUT A FARM, lessons for life regardless of where you live.

All three books are available at amazon.com and each has its own .com website under its title.

All contents of this blog, excluding illustrations, are copyright 2013 Marc L. Kuhn.  Reproduction of any and all parts without the expressed consent of the author is a no-no.

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

