Can Sex Sell a Blog?

girl1I think I am giving in to a known fact.  It is nothing new.  Everybody knows it.  It is a concept that has been proven over and over again:  Sex Sells!  Period/Amen.   Add a sexual element to your commercial, your advertisement, your story, your display, your movie, your book—your whatever.  Do it and you will attract more eyes and minds than you would ever imagine.  Gee, does a book titled “Fifty Shades of Grey” make the point?

playboyI was once of the opinion that the concept of sex sells, while true, is a bit shallow. It has no redeeming value or intellectual credibility.  It’s a concept that feeds off prurient interest and little else.  It is no different from the young man who claims he buys Playboy Magazine because it has interesting stories and interviews.  Nope, I have to agree, body parts sell, especially young, naked body parts.

body4If I were to follow this principle that sex sells, I should just go ahead and change my photo on this blog and on my website.  A full monty, I suppose, is what would grab attention.  My wife says, “share, don’t scare.”  So maybe the world is not ready for a naked me.  That was a sigh of relief you may have just heard.  So, I guess the next best thing is to add pictures of other people’s body parts.  Best they should be young and attractive.

bed2The whole reason I started thinking about all this is because I mistakenly assumed after about a dozen or more blogs I’d be attracting more followers by now…or at least accumulating a good number of ‘likes” from those who stopped by and took the time to read what I have to say.  But, alas, I’m lucky if I get two or three “likes’ at the bottom of my blogs.  True, I’ve gotten more than that on some, but nothing like the gazillion I see on other blogs.  So I’ve been trying to figure out a way I can make my blog more likable.   I took a look back at my blogs and I noticed right away there were not many sexy pictures.  I figure I have to step up my graphics a bit to make my site more attractive, more sizzling.  Hence, I’ve paid careful attention to the pictures I’ve selected for this blog.

puppiesThere’s an alternative, I think, for those who may not like the sex tactic.  Puppies, I’m told, can be just as effective.  I like this idea.  Honestly, who cannot not resist a basket full of adorable puppies?  “Ahhhh” and “Ohhhh how cute” are two phrases that come to mine when anyone comes across a litter of puppies.  They are an instant “feel-good” and an automatic heartthrob.

There are probably other considerations, too.  I bet kittens are good magnets as are babies and glistening ingots of gold stacked one upon another.  None of these images may have anything to do with what the intent of the presentation is, but it makes no matter—they attract eyes and that’s all the author can wish for.

With that in mind, I hope I have attracted a few more “likes” with this edition of my blog.  I have to admit, this discussion does not carry a message of much significance as perhaps some of my other efforts.  If, indeed, it does gather more response than normal, than I suppose it has made my point.  I don’t like to leave things to chance, however, so I have held one last graphic in reserve.  If sex sells and puppies sell, then just imagine…

girldog4

 *****

Marc Kuhn is the author of three books.  Recently published is an adult historical novel, THE POPE’S STONE.  The other two books are for children:  NEVER GOOSE A MOOSE…And a bunch of other things you should never do!; and ABOUT A FARM, lessons for life regardless of where you live.

All three books are available at amazon.com and each has its own .com website under its title.

About Marc Kuhn

I am a retired radio exec. I've worked at major stations in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. and Miami. That was then. This is now: I've published seven books and this blog thingy. Need to know more? Really? Okay, I bare/bear all at http://marckuhn.com The other links are for the websites of each of the books I've written. I've been busy! Hope you'll stop by and check them out. Thanks for your interest!
This entry was posted in WHATEVER! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

